About Us

Our Scene

The Ottawa Swing Dance Society (OSDS) is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to promoting swing dance and swing dancing culture in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada.

Founded in December of 1999, the club has grown in membership and repertoire, now showcasing a variety of swing dances, including East Coast Swing, Lindy Hop, Charleston, Balboa, Shag, Blues. Founded as swing dancing in the Ottawa bar scene began to go out of fashion in venues like Zaphod's, Barrymores, Babylon and the Cave, the club moved into the former Indigo Lounge, then on to All Saint's Church, the Jack Purcell Community Centre, Ottawa dancestudios.ca, returned to All Saint's Church, and now has just moved to its current home at St. Joseph's Parish.

The club is completely run by volunteers whose hard work and dedication have garnered them a New RO Volunteer of the Week award for January 2003. Dancers from our scene have also been featured in the History Channel documentary, The War Brides: From Romance to Reality and at the gala premier of 20th Century Gals, a "docu-dramedy" featuring This Hour has 22 Minutes star Cathy Jones. They have also been showcased by Breakfast at the New RO, the Centretown News, the Ottawa Bluesfest, the Governor General's Concert Series, the Tulip Festival, the Canadian War Museum, the Royal Ottawa Hospital, the Ottawa Citizen, South Keys Cinema, and the Brockville Riverfest.

Our scene has produced some excellent teachers who help ensure that our beginners learn quickly and have a great time. With a warm sense of community and a fun atmosphere, the Ottawa Swing Dance society is a great way to spend a Friday night.

Executive Committee of the OSDS








Past Executive Committee Members

We would like to honor and thank the many past members of  committee whos tireless efforts have allowed so many to experience the fun and friendship that can be had by discovering swing dancing.

Albert Chan
Alex Hawley
Andrea Hook
Andréa Pelletier
Bryan Larsen
Claudia Petrilli
Colin Schlachta
Dave Miller
Dwight Hopkins
Ed Reaney
Ève  Laframboise
Flynn Strathearn
Geoff Dinsdale
Helena Forbes
James Dunlop
Jean-Francois Harbour
Jordan Long
Jordana King
Kate Jubenville
Kofi Arthiabah

Konrad Scherer
Linda Paul
Marg Wooley 
Maxim Berdichevsky 

Nathalie Hetu
Rhonda Arsenault
Rob Crosbie
Shawn Moffatt
Stefan Fuchs
Stephen Gagne
Tara Dentry
Yan Robichaud
*We did our best to include everyone but we're human.  If we've missed you please let us know.

Subpages (1): DJs